Topics of Interest

Dr. William H. Parker’s Patients’ Comments

 

Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 >

Andrea G – Los Angeles, California:

Bill Parker is a uniquely gifted surgeon who manages to do what every other gynecologist assured me was not do-able. He removed a two-pound fibroid from my uterus laparoscopically. He did not compromise – nor did he remove – the uterus. (The shocking fact of needless and countless hysterectomies is a whole other story.) In Dr. Parker’s hands, I was home the same day and felt only discomfort for a few days (easily manageable). He invites all questions, supplies answers, shows you videos, diagrams – all the while demonstrating extraordinary understanding – as well as vast knowledge and experience – that puts him at the forefront of his profession. I spent years – and absurd amounts of money and time in my quest for alternative methods of shrinking my fibroids. Why? Because I was adamantly opposed to a hysterectomy or full-blown abdominal surgery. (One noted gynecologist was so eager to be thorough in the removal of my fibroids that he recommended radical surgery that would open my entire chest cavity. Honest – you can’t make this stuff up.) Dr. Parker was alone in his opinion that he could remove this sizable fibroid of mine laparoscopically. And he did so brilliantly. Run – do not walk – to see him if you need a second, third or twelfth opinion.

E.M. – Los Angeles, California:

I had consulted with two doctors prior to locating Dr. Parker, regarding my very large 17cm (nearly 7″) tumor. “It’s huge” one of the doctors had said. Both doctors recommended a hysterectomy. Although at 45 years old I have no intention of having another child, I very much want to keep all my parts intact.

After intense internet research, I located Dr. Parker. His credentials were key to my decision to set up a consultation. I was specifically looking for someone who teaches others to do what I needed to have done, someone who has written extensively about the topic, and has performed this surgery innumerable times. It was imperative to me to find someone for whom this surgery was very ordinary. Dr. Parker fits this bill and more.

Neither of the two doctors that I had consulted prior to Dr. Parker instilled confidence. The first was clearly intimidated by the prospect of trying to repair the uterus after removal of such a large fibroid. The second doctor indicated that it might not be a fibroid and could be cancer. An MRI was ordered, the ultra sound and CT scan having been a waste of time. My internet search began that day.

A week later I was sitting with Dr. Parker, discussing the MRI. Dr. Parker reviewed the MRI with me and assured me with great confidence that this was not cancerous and only a fibroid. Dr. Parker was undaunted by the size and offered to perform the surgery laparoscopically or abdominally – assuring me that he could retain my uterus in either case. Ultimately, the abdominal surgery made the most sense to me and I am now fibroid free with my uterus intact.

The care after the surgery has been equally great. Dr. Parker spoke with my husband immediately after the surgery to let him know all was well, he phoned both evenings while I was in the hospital to check up, he checked on me in person both mornings after the surgery. I have had two other surgeries in my lifetime and neither surgeon came close to this sort of attention. The follow up after my release from the hospital has also been great. Dr. Parker and his staff are available for any questions or concerns.

Dr. Parker is my ideal surgeon: an exceptionally impressive resume, a genuinely warm disposition and the skill to easily do what others were unable to.

Rachel – Los Angeles, California:

After seven years of biannual monitoring, I was very nervous when my fibroids grew to such troublesome, uncomfortable sizes they needed removal. Four doctors I consulted with almost immediately suggested hysterectomies, C-sections and other aggressive treatments. Doctor Parker was the polar opposite — and also my last hope. Dr. Parker came highly recommended from experts I sought on both US coasts–in fact every head of every hospital I contacted mentioned him as the best in less invasive gynecological procedures. In all my years of medical exams, I’ve never once met a more thorough, patient, caring or warm physician. Most doctors rush you through consultations and appointments. Though the positions and sizes of my fibroids were varied and complicated to remove, he didn’t jump to wide-sweeping surgery, in fact he encouraged me to get further tests to better inform us -to him ultra sound pictures weren’t the end all as every other doctor felt, Dr. Parker wanted all my options to be crystal clear to us both. He is the most rare, hands on and available expert and gyn I have ever met. During each and every step before and after my robotic laproscopic myomectomy I felt confident, comforted and open to asking any and all questions. Right after surgery, I called him with concerns and he came to see me in person, bright and early, and without my asking. Dr. Parker is positively the best in the business, and as a patient, I heartily attest his stellar reputation is true. I have referred many friends and colleagues to him and will continue to do so. As an avid researcher, too, Dr. Parker is a precious gift to the profession and a rare gem to his patients.

A.P.:

Bottom line – a year after my fibroid surgery, at 36, I got pregnant on my first try and had an adorable son. Over 3 years later, I am still fibroid free. Dr. Parker’s expert surgical care saved my uterus.

The long story- I had dozens of uterine fibroids, ranging in size, that totaled a 5 month pregnancy. I am the type of person who will try everything prior to surgery and will seek out experts no matter where they are. I’m vegetarian etc. Bikram Yoga shrank my fibroids when they were egg sized, but I didn’t maintain it. Then when they ballooned in size, I flew to D.C. to try alternative methods with Dr. Warshowsky, who wrote a book on healing fibroids. Though we tried, mine were too big at the time to change in the year I gave myself to shrink them naturally. The next stop was finding a surgeon who would do his best to maintain my uterus for having children. I, of course, did my research and found Dr. Parker. People I asked in the medical field respected him and I immediately felt comfortable with my choice. I even researched plastic surgeons to close the myomectomy only to learn that he knows how to do plastic surgery sutures as well. He’s warm, knowledgeable and an expert in his field. He checked in on me each morning at 7 am after my surgery to make sure I was okay. He continues to be my gynecologist because I have that much faith in him. Research was the toughest part for me. Rest assured you have come to the right place

Dr. G – Springfield, Missouri:

As a family physician I went through quite a challenge for the treatment of my fibroids. I have had uterine fibroids since over 25 years and since 2007 they have been gradually more and more symptomatic. In the past 4 years, I have been seeing 4 different gynecologists, and they all just gave me one treatment option – Hysterectomy – which was never the right option for me.

I am meanwhile peri-menopausal, but still could not agree to such a surgery for only benign uterine tumors. I always compare it with – we don’t take out the prostate for benign prostate hyperplasia (BPH), so why hysterectomy for fibroids?!

After consulting 4 different gynecologists here in the Springfield, MO area, no one was able to recommend a Myomectomy, due to a lot of different reasons, e.g. I had at least 5 – 6 fibroids, with the largest being 10 cm and my fibroid uterus reaching up to the belly button, I would have a high bleeding risk, the locations of the tumors are too far posterior, or in a more delicate area right over the uterine artery and ureter, etc. It boiled down to the fact, that none of the local gynecologists were familiar with a laparoscopic myomectomy and therefore, I would not have an option, except a Hysterectomy, if I would continue seeking treatment in this area.

After researching online, I found Dr. Parker’s web page and contacted him. In less than a few days, I was convinced that I had the best choice of a surgeon for my surgery. He did not hesitate to say that I was a good candidate for a laparoscopic myomectomy, after looking at my pelvic MRI. Further he was not worried at all, about the bleeding risk and the locations of the fibroids. As I met him for my pre-op evaluation it was obvious, that he was the first gynecologist, who respects the patients’ wishes and objectively recommends the appropriate treatment choices.

This extraordinary surgery was a piece of cake for him. He was able to do the surgery through the belly button, without any other major scars, even though the fibroids reached nearly up to it. He removed 5 fibroids, and I did not lose any blood throughout the surgery. My recovery was very fast, and I did not need any narcotics post op. My surgery outcome was excellent and it could not have been better, thanks to Dr. Parker’s superior knowledge and skills.

I highly recommend Dr. W. Parker and I am convinced that whoever will decide, to have a surgery with him, will have an excellent result and the very best treatment possible. No distance is too far to travel, to have a brilliant gynecologist like Dr. Parker.

LK, Los Angeles

My nightmare started in 2005 when I thought I was just gaining a little weight.

By 2007, one zone diet, one personal trainer and two gym memberships later, I was suddenly being told that I needed emergency surgery within the next 7 days. My fibroid tummy looked like a 3-4 month pregnancy! With the looming promise of a hysterectomy, suddenly, my future plans of having children seemed very unlikely. The best case scenario they presented to me was a six month treatment of Lupron & a surgical incision from just below my sternum, down to my waistline.

It seemed that every obgyn, specialist or surgeon that I met scoffed doubtfully at the idea of preserving my fertility & some outright dismissed the idea that I could get through surgery with a healthy uterus. If I was going to walk away from this with an outcome I could live with, I had to thoroughly educate myself about fibroids and all available treatments. Fortunately, I wasn’t embarking on this monumental journey alone, my wonderful husband supported me through all of it.

We were willing to try almost anything to save my fertility. I ate certain foods rumored to shrink fibroids, I tried acupuncture for the first time, took holistic medicinal cures and we scoured the internet for information.

Time marched on and my fibroid bulged like a 5-6 month pregnancy. I looked for Exablate clinical trials in other countries, I investigated cutting edges alternatives and even considered procedures that are too dicey to list. The more we learned the more desperate we got.

At some point I had totally given up. I decided to live with it in hopes that it might just retreat on its on, but no! It kept growing and growing..to the point that EVERYWHERE I went, well-intentioned people kept asking me when the baby was due! Meaning no harm, they offered names, parenting advice & predictions on the “baby’s” gender.

At this point I was so anemic that by the time I returned home from a blood test, my doctor had left numerous voicemail messages begging me to get an immediate transfusion. With a hemoglobin level of five the two blood transfusions I had brought me up to 8. It became increasingly clear that my fibroid would not just “go away”. I had to take action.

In our endless quest to find a livable solution, my husband discovered Dr. Parker!

We were relieved to see him discuss the unnecessary nature of so many fibroid-related hysterectomy’s, awestruck by his depth of knowledge, and impressed by his resume. At one point, my husband yelled from the computer,”this surgeon is doing a LIVE myomectomy!” Now that’s the kind of confidence we had spent years looking for.

We continued to research Dr. Parker, Google him, read patient reviews and discover that he was world-renown in the field of fibroids and their removal.

He was the first light at the end of a very long the tunnel.

I contacted dr. parker and he was genuinely patient and caring, answering all my questions through my sobbing and tears.

He assured me that not only could he do the operation, but that he would use a device called a cell saver to recycle my blood during surgery & cut down the need of additional transfusions.

He gave me a prescription to start iron injections to cure my anemia reassured my family & introduced us to his INCREDIBLE staff.

Over the course of several months of iron injections my hemoglobin shot up from 7.5 to 12.2 the day of surgery! And this without a single Lupron shot!

With a full-term, 9 month pregnancy looking stomach, my fibroid was finally getting removed!

The staff at St. John’s hospital was superior, the anesthesiologist was truly angelic & Dr. Parker completed my surgery in about 2 1/2 hours!

My uterus was healthy & my fertility preserved!

After surgery Dr. Parker came to see me EVERYDAY until I was discharged from the hospital.

Today, 2 months post surgery, I feel amazing & I can say that this was the best health decision I ever made.

I have a new lease on life.

I encourage every woman to take the time to do the research, don’t rush into any too-good-to-be-true remedies, trust your instincts and find a surgeon who is awarded, respected and the most qualified in their field.

To me & my family, Dr. Parker is a hero.

H. – Midwest

Four years ago, after experiencing increasing fatigue and a bulging abdomen, I was diagnosed by my local physician with a 12 cm fibroid. I was told it could be removed through abdominal surgery but that my uterus could be sacrificed. I was 30, had not had any children yet, and had difficulty accepting the prospect of a hysterectomy. After undergoing an MRI, I was told that although large, the tumor was not very vascular and, therefore, unlikely to grow much further. I asked about natural remedies and was told that since the tumor did not have a large blood supply it would be okay for me to hold off on surgery. If only I knew of Dr. Parker then.

I wasted a ridiculous amount of time and money trying various herbs, vitamins, poultices, and Internet remedies trying to shrink the fibroid. Nothing I tried made any appreciable difference. I read everything, academic and otherwise, I could find with the word fibroid or tumor mentioned – including stories about magnet therapy, alkalized water, and the supposed power of the sea cucumber. Slowly but surely my life began to revolve around my condition.

After three and a half years the fibroid that wasn’t supposed to grow had ballooned to over 22 cm. Breathing was laborious, eating was uncomfortable, and my lower ribs often felt as though they were going to snap in half from the pressure of the mass. Surgeons (who clearly had never seen such a large fibroid – “gigantic” one called it) began to repeat the words hysterectomy and malignancy. I was told the only way to even attempt a myomectomy would be through a long vertical abdominal incision. I was informed the procedure would take four to six hours, a best case scenario would give me a 50% chance of retaining my uterus, and that any future pregnancy would be extremely high-risk. I was sure the operation would result in disaster and that I would regret the procedure for the rest of my life.

After finding and reviewing Dr. Parker’s website, I requested permission from my insurance company to meet with him. My request was denied. I then appealed to the lead surgeon assigned to my case. I relayed some of the cases discussed at fibroidsecondopinion.com and detailed Dr. Parker’s vast experience and repeated successful treatment of large tumors through myomectomy. I was told, “No other physician could provide any additional information that would be helpful to us.” I couldn’t disagree more. I called Dr. Parker’s office and scheduled a consultation.

Dr. Parker assured me that based on his education and experience it was highly unlikely the tumor was cancerous, it could be removed in about two hours through a horizontal incision, the chance of losing my uterus was almost zero, and any future pregnancy should then be completely normal. He also informed me that the mass was putting pressure on the vena cava – something the surgeons and radiologists who had previously reviewed my ultrasounds and MRIs had either neglected to notice or neglected to mention.

I underwent surgery with Dr. Parker. The 10+ pound tumor was removed through a horizontal incision, the surgery took about two hours, my uterus is healthy and intact, and testing confirmed the tumor was benign. Although I never mentioned my concern about narcotics, Dr. Parker exhibited the same respect, on more than one occasion, for their impact on the brain and the morning after surgery when he advised me he was ordering a change to the medication I was receiving, offered the name of the medication, explained its purpose, and identified it as non-narcotic before I could even form any of those questions. The next morning, shortly after visiting me again, Dr. Parker called me to inform me that he had revised his decision about whether or not to change the bandage on my incision. I couldn’t believe a busy surgeon would take the time to let his patient know this, let alone place the call himself. I greatly appreciated this call as it prevented the concern I would have felt otherwise when the nurse came in and began removing the tape. I spent two nights in the hospital and upon release needed no pain medication – not even ibuprofen. Dr. Parker credits the ON-Q pump, however, I believe his surgical skill played a large role in my lack of notable pain.

I couldn’t be happier with the care and consideration I have received from Dr. Parker and his staff. Although I do not live in California, I plan to see only Dr. Parker for all future gyn. care.

If you have been diagnosed with a gyn. ailment and feel at all uneasy about the planned treatment or would simply like another opinion, please don’t wait, please don’t settle; call Dr. Parker’s office. Besides being an expert in his field, he is a warm, incredibly modest, gentle man who encourages questions and truly cares about his patients.

Jenny. A. – Toronto, Ontario, Canada:

Six years ago, at the age of 35, I thought I had taken care of my fibroids after going through the UFE treatment. Unfortunately, the relief was short lived and two years later, I started having symptoms all over again. The 11 cm fibroid felt heavy in my abdomen, filled my uterus, and put enough pressure on my bladder to make me constantly and urgently seek out every bathroom in every place wherever I went. This was just no way to live. My gynecologist immediately suggested a hysterectomy. I was not willing to do this. I consulted with other doctors in my area, even traveled out of town to get second and third opinions, only to be told over and over that Hysterectomy was the way to go. Two years passed and I almost gave up hope. Life was becoming increasingly unpleasant with all the symptoms I was experiencing. Against my wish, I was forcing myself to mentally prepare for a hysterectomy at the age of 39.

Blessings, fate, luck, karma – whatever one might call it – everything changed when I stumbled upon Dr. Parker’s website. I shared it with my husband and we read together, with awe, the many beautiful stories of so many happy and satisfied patients. We picked up the phone and called his office. We finally found a doctor who actually dedicates his life to saving women, like me, from unnecessary hysterectomies! Just knowing this made me feel like a winner. Over the next one year, I made innumerable phone calls and had any number of questions – every call returned promptly and answered patiently by Dr. Parker himself. Someone was actually listening to me and was compassionate enough to understand my desire of keeping my uterus and removing just the fibroids. Why was this so hard for other doctors to get?

Truth be told – it was the best decision I ever made! This past December 2011, I traveled from Toronto, Ontario, to Santa Monica, California to see Dr. Parker. He warmly welcomed me and my husband into his office. Together, we reviewed my MRI on a computer screen (which no other doctor had ever done), and after performing a few examinations, Dr. Parker explained to us in detail everything we needed to know about the location of my fibroids, what to expect from surgery and recovery and everything in between, we agreed that it was in my best interest to go through an abdominal myomectomy. Even though surgery made me very nervous, I knew that I could put my faith in Dr.Parker. Here he was, this experienced, skilled and gifted surgeon, backed with tremendous subject matter knowledge, yet so humble, patient and kind, putting me at ease to ask and express anything I felt and wanted to know about my condition. I knew I had come to the right place.

Surgery was scheduled and everything went well. When I opened my eyes, I heard Dr. Parker’s calming voice telling me that I was doing great. Knowing that the fibroids were gone and my uterus was intact was a good feeling. I was eager to get well soon! I am happy to say that two weeks later, I am back in Toronto, ready to begin the New Year. My search for hope and the removal of fibroids ended with Dr. Parker. I hope yours will too. He is the best doctor I have ever met in all my life.

Thank you for your outstanding care, Dr. Parker! I will always remain grateful to you.

C. Los Angeles, California:

Dr. Parker saved me from having an unnecessary hysterectomy. Two years ago my former gynecologist performed my annual exam and detected two fibroids. He immediately said I should have a hysterectomy. I was shocked. I had no pain, no discomfort, no bleeding. Nothing. I told him I felt fine and that this seemed like an extreme measure. He said well it’s better to be safe than sorry. Besides you don’t need your uterus anymore. When he said that, I got really angry. I decided then and there that I would seek out another doctor.

Enter Dr. Parker. He examined me and provided me with lots of information. He told me a hysterectomy was unnecessary. He said my fibroids weren’t that large and my lining in my uterus appeared normal. He said we would monitor them every six months.

Well two years later, the fibroids have shrunken dramatically and all is well.

And all with NO SURGERY!

I cannot thank Doctor Parker enough. He is compassionate, a skilled doctor and surgeon, and has an incredible bedside manner. He stays current and is very knowledgeable. And he has a good sense of humor.

But most importantly, he puts the patient first.

Ladies, you should never subject yourself to a dispassionate doctor or one whose allegiance to the scalpel is stronger than their allegiance to the patient’s true needs.

Dr. Parker is a genuine gem.

William K (Husband):

Dr Parker is in a class by himself. There are people who practice medicine that are adequate then there are people like William Parker who excel and lead in their field of medicine.

Dr. Parker is willing to invest time, effort and energy to ensure his patients wellbeing and most successful outcome. He is a rare individual and an exceptional doctor that I would recommend the closest of friends and family.

Kelly M:

I was referred to Dr Parker for a second opinion after having an unsuccessful fibroid surgery and being told I needed a more invasive one to ever have a chance of conceiving.  From the moment I met with Dr Parker I was impressed. He clearly is a leader in the field and confident in his work. He spent time with my husband and I explaining everything and going over all my options so I could make an informed choice. The entire experience from start to finish was great. Ultimately he was able to do the same less invasive surgery successfully and I was pregnant immediately. Still to this day I feel so profoundly grateful to have found this incredible doctor.

Rachel Gerber – Los Angeles, California:

I thought I took care of my fibroids five years ago when I underwent the rather harrowing Uterine Fibroid Embolization procedure. It worked to the extent that it relieved the pulling I use to experience, but this minor gain was hardly worth the intense cramping I experienced over several months and the early menopause that resulted. Worst of all, my enormous 17 cm fibroid never shrank and some of my symptoms returned within three years. I felt like I didn’t have many options having already attempted one procedure. It was both demoralizing and depressing to think I’d gone through the time, expense, and pain of this procedure for no real gain. I’d have to live with a bloated belly, the constant need to run to the bathroom and that awful pulling again. Luckily, my depression sent me in search of an answer. It was pretty much minutes after I entered the search term “options for fibroids” that Dr. Parker’s name appeared and the accolades jumped off the page. I had to meet this man.

I made the appointment with the greatest hope but mindful of the mistakes I made in “drinking the Koolaid” about embolization. I had my list of questions ready, and I was determined to ask the doctor even if, like my last doctor, he appeared businesslike, dispassionate, condescending, or bored. This, I came to find upon my very first appointment was so NOT Dr. Parker. I was immediately met by a warm, funny, kind, patient man who knew how to talk to me, who spoke to me not as a potential pay day but as a person in need of answers and relief. He totally got me and easily disarmed my skepticism. I was instantly at ease. Dr. Parker was the first doctor who invited my questions, even encouraged more. Additionally, he took my calls and answered my emails, promptly and in his same open, expansive manner. He inspired such faith and optimism in me that I scheduled my laproscopic myomectomy in March 2013.

His manner was the same at the hospital; he was reassuring, cheerful, and clear with me and my family. My sister, who has been through no shortage of surgeries herself, was instantly impressed by Dr. Parker, who is a real person, genuine, compassionate, just lovely in every way.

And as a further contrast to my hideous experience with embolization, my healing this time around was rapid. The “minimally invasive” embolization had me knocked out for about three weeks. I continued to struggle for at least one more week, feeling groggy, emotional, and dejected by those still obvious bulges in my abdomen. The prescribed medication was egregious. But surgery in the hands of the sublime Dr. Parker saw me up and around two days after the procedure, free of painkillers and fibroids, buoyant over the success of my surgery and the gift that is Dr. Parker.

Today, two weeks after my surgery, I feel amazing: healthy, energized grateful, and proud that I did not give up and resign myself to a life of inconvenience and discomfort.

My advice to anyone suffering from fibroids, no matter how large or small, no matter how dire or benign, to speak to Dr. Parker before you make another decision about your health. He is a phenomenal healer and a great reason for hope.

Thank you so much Dr. Parker. You are absolutely the best!

K.B. – Los Angeles, California:

I am a registered nurse and have worked with many doctors and surgeons during my career.  Without doubt, Dr. Parker is absolutely the best physician I have ever come across and I highly recommend him to anyone suffering with fibroids.

I am 34 years old and was previously diagnosed with an intramural fibroid which had grown to 12cm x 15cm size and was causing fertility problems.  The size and location of the fibroid had also caused me daily pain and bulk related symptoms.  Seeing that I have not yet had children, I was strongly interested in preserving my fertility and maintaining my uterus intact.  In my search for minimally invasive and/or fertility preserving options, I was elated to find Dr. Parker.

From my first consultation to post surgery care, Dr. Parker made me feel heard and cared for.  I was afraid that I would require a hysterectomy, but Dr. Parker assured me that he would be able to remove my fibroid and preserve my fertility.  My abdominal myomectomy was free of complications and at 5 weeks post op my quality of life has already drastically improved.  I am fully confident that I will be able to begin trying to start my family as soon as I am fully recovered.

If I were to summarize an important piece of advice for any woman suffering with fibroids and looking to preserve their uterus — Do not agree to a hysterectomy or any invasive gynecological procedure without first consulting Dr. Parker for his opinion and expertise on the matter.

Dr. Parker is by far the most recommended gynecological surgeon and is highly regarded in the medical community.  On a personal level, I would trust him with my mother and little sisters because of his expertise, bedside manner and willingness to thoroughly and patiently discuss all your concerns.

Sara – Pennsylvania:

I am a 54 year old black woman who has struggled with issues of fibroids for the past ten years. Being a registered nurse, I was determined to find the best doctor anywhere in the country who could perform my surgery without complications.

Prior to visiting Dr. Parker, I consulted six (6) other doctors in Pennsylvania and New Jersey and they all told me that I needed a hysterectomy with a vertical incision from my pubic area to my umbilicus. I refused to have them perform the surgery. Subsequently, I began an internet search for the best fibroid surgeon in the United States. I came across nearly (200) two hundred 5-star patient reviews for Dr. William Parker and further researched his qualification and experience and decided to make an appointment.

I flew across the country from Pennsylvania to California to meet with Dr. Parker. At my first appointment, I became totally convinced that I had finally found a knowledgeable, competent and compassionate surgeon to whom I could entrust my life. He was attentive to my fears and concerns and provided the utmost assurance about my safety. Overall, he exceeded my expectations.

Dr. Parker performed an abdominal myomectomy on April 18, 2016 and removed 33 fibroids with the largest measuring 30 centimeters. He sutured the ON-Q pain device into the incision for adequate pain management. On the day of the surgery, I arrived via stretcher from the recovery room to the surgical unit. The nurse removed my foley catheter and within two hours I got out of bed and was able to ambulate to the bathroom. The next morning, I took a bath, got dressed, applied make-up and lipstick and was walking around the nurses’ station. Some of the staff mistook me for a visitor until they saw a name band on my wrist. I proudly reaffirmed to them that I was a patient of Dr. William Parker. I spent two nights at UCLA in Santa Monica and Dr. Parker visited me every morning and called me every night. The surgery was successful without any complication and the incision healed completely within three (3) weeks. I am now four months post-op and have returned to work.

I am grateful to God for providing the miraculous hands of Dr. William Parker.

Margit – Citrus Heights, California:

I can’t say enough just how thankful I am for Dr. Parker and to have found him thru his website. He is the most caring, compassionate and kindest physician I have ever met. With his outstanding skills, his knowledge and experience, he makes a wide variety of treatments available for women with uterine fibroids you can not find anywhere else.

Since ever I found out I had fibroids more then 10 years ago (I’m 44 now) I was told the only option I had was to undergo a hysterectomy. One of the worst things every doctor would say to me was that I should consider a hysterectomy due to my age. I absolutely did not want a hysterectomy no matter what age. Instead I lived with my fibroids and the pain and discomfort they were causing. One fibroid grew extremely large in size and the pain and abdominal discomfort was growing with it. I went thru extreme cramping during my cycles every month. I couldn’t fit into my clothes anymore, even gained nearly 20 pounds. I would only wear baggy clothes, so not to show my huge abdomen and would constantly be asked if I was expecting. Once again I went to seek treatment. I could tell the gynecologist I consulted reluctantly agreed to a myomectomy. She told me she would need to make a vertical as well as horizontal abdominal cut, she would only remove the large fibroid and leave the other ones. I wasn’t very confident in her skills and was discouraged to follow thru.

I had previously researched online for fibroid doctors when I came across Dr. Parker’s website. I finally decided I needed to contact him. He was my last hope. It was really easy to set up an appointment and from the moment I met Dr. Parker it was clear I made the right decision. He discussed the different treatments available without even once mentioning that I needed a hysterectomy. It was very comforting. He is very positive, a great listener and so easy to talk to. He recommended an abdominal myomectomy thru a bikini incision and assured me he would remove all fibroids. Two month after my first meeting with Dr. Parker I had my surgery. I knew I was in the best hands possible. Dr. Parker removed a 20x17x11 cm, almost 4 pound fibroid as well as several smaller ones. My hospital stay was two days. I am two weeks post op now and feel like a whole new person. I am recovering extremely well. When the nurse practitioner removed my sutures she even mentioned Dr. Parker uses the same skin closure techniques as a plastic surgeon to minimize scarring. I couldn’t be happier. Dr. Parker’s care was exceptional. He called me every night while I was in the hospital to see how I was doing and personally checked in with me every day. In case I had any questions he always returned my phone calls and answered my emails almost immediately. I am very proud to say I am Dr. Parker’s patient. He genuinely and deeply cares for his patients. Don’t even hesitate for a moment to see Dr. Parker even if it means traveling to do so. It is well worth it. I would like to give my heartfelt thank you to Dr. Parker, his office staff as well as the entire staff at UCLA Medical Center Santa Monica for the amazing care I received before, during and after the surgery. Dr. Parker made a new life possible for me and words cannot express how grateful I am.

M.G. – San Francisco, California:

Please consider consulting Dr. William Parker before you make any surgical decisions! After suffering for many years with pain and heavy menstrual bleeding, I consulted an OB/GYN that was highly recommended. The diagnosis that was made on the basis of ultrasound testing was that my symptoms were caused by a rather large uterine fibroid. I am over 40 years old and was advised that although less-invasive methods may be possible, one treatment to consider would be a hysterectomy — it was strongly advised but I would decide. The doctor began Lupron treatments to try and shrink the fibroid so that it might be possible to remove it by laproscopic or robotic surgery.

After many months of Lupron treatments (the pain subsided), I was told that there was not much change in the size of the fibroid, and that I should schedule an abdominal myomectomy. This information was communicated in a very matter-of-fact manner. No other option was available because of the size of the fibroid. Of course this was very distressing to both me and my husband, but we accepted that this was the only option under the circumstances. Before I could schedule the surgery, my husband continued to research fibroids and the various treatments and came across Dr. Parker’s website. I remember him calling me over to the computer and saying, “you have to look at this — this is a renowned specialist in uterine fibroids — we HAVE to get a second opinion”.

I consider myself very fortunate to have given the opportunity to make an appointment with Dr. Parker to review my condition. He required an MRI to be performed before my visit, something that was not previously done. I have never experienced such an informative, caring, knowledgeable, and personable physician. Dr. Parker informed me that I did NOT have a fibroid at all, instead I have been suffering from adenomyosis. The important thing is that I know now that several options are available to me before I have to resort to surgery. Dr. Parker explained these options very clearly, including providing diagrams, showing photographs, and discussing pros/cons and risks. I felt that my husband and I were given all the time we needed to discuss my case with Dr. Parker. I remember both of us looking at each other in the elevator after the visit almost in shock that I very well could have been subjected to major surgery on a misdiagnosed condition!

Again, I urge anyone that is considering surgery to consult with Dr. Parker and receive possibly the best second (or third or fourth) opinion. Dr. Parker’s expertise and quality of care is exceptional.

J.Z.:

I highly recommend Dr. Parker as not only an excellent fibroid surgeon, but a caring guide through a difficult process.

As I approach my third menstrual cycle since my Abdominal Myomectomy

by Dr. Parker, I see I truly was given a second chance at life. Let me begin by saying I am a holistic practitioner and the last thing I ever wanted was to do a western surgery. I tried for years to heal my body on my own, through herbs, diet, acupuncture, therapy; anything to try and repair my womb naturally. Nothing worked. By the time I began to accept this fact, the fibroids were so big and numerous that the other doctors I went to were telling me I needed a hysterectomy. This news in fact made me hysterical, I was not willing to lose my uterus.

I experienced 7 years in struggle. Two of those years were spent bouncing around in the Western medical system with doctors who saw me as a clinical case and had trouble relating to my emotions. To them, it seemed reasonable, logical and the only choice to remove my uterus. I was finding my worst nightmares and ideas of the western medical world coming true.

Then one day I got a phone call from my Mom. She said, “Honey, I went back to the website of Dr. Parker. Do you remember the doctor you saw 7 years ago when you had this diagnosed? He told you to wait because the fibroids were so small. He said to come back if they became a problem? There are so many success stories on his website. I really believe he can help.” I did remember Dr. Parker, but at the time of my searching for help, he did not accept insurance, so I did not go to him. By the time my Mom called, I had given up hope, it was only by the strength of my loved ones I actually went to see him.

I went into his office guarded and resigned to hear what all the other doctors had said, hysterectomy. But instead I was met with a miracle! Dr. Parker not only told me he could help me, he told me he could keep my womb intact and I would be able someday to have children. That I would, in fact, have a healthy uterus again post surgery. The double miracle was now his office accepted insurance!!!

His manner was so knowledgeable, gentle, calm and reassuring. He was understanding and actually listened to me. He answered all my questions and concerns with actual experience to back it up. I was a real person to him, not just a case on an ultrasound. In addition to that, he is an expert, if not the expert in his field. What had been a terrifying prospect, having surgery, was Dr. Parker’s world everyday for 40 years. He took this ominous experience and made it simple and easy without diminishing my feelings.

The surgery went simply and the scar is minimal. Dr. Parker took pictures of the 17 fibroids I had in my uterus. It was unbelievable to me that I had lived with those inside me and that he was able to remove them so deftly. My friend commented he must be a true artist, I agree. So many surgeons would not even dream of attempting such a difficult case, Dr. Parker took it in stride, he didn’t even blink, nor did he even question his ability to do it. He made it seem as simple as weeding a garden.

The combination of Dr. Parker’s kind manner, his skill as a surgeon, and his visible joy in his work, is in my experience a rare find. I could not have asked for a better doctor or a better surgery. I leave this experience feeling like he was more than a doctor, he was an advocate for my health and wholeness as a woman.

My days of lying on the floor in pain during my period are over. My terrible PMS has subsided greatly. My need to schedule 2 weeks of my life “around my period,” is over. My abdomen is soft and starting to look normal. I am still amazed. It was difficult to know how much of my everyday world was revolving around the fibroids till they were gone. I am free now and I feel like I can begin living my life again. Thank you Dr. Parker and team. I am forever grateful.

MA – Los Angeles, California:

I feel like my perspective on fibroids and surgeons are different than most and that is why I want to share my experience with other women regarding Dr Parker. I sell a medication for Fibroids and I know most of the leading physicians in this field. I have actually been trained and seen and touched the equipment they use during surgery.  Obviously I have a very informed perspective and I know the reputation and skill sets of the surgeons in this field. I had a previous consultation with another leading physician and I just didn’t feel comfortable with him as I do with Dr Parker.  I have been suffering with horrible cramps, pelvic pain and pressure for many years due to my fibroids. I looked like I was 5 months pregnant during my menstruation.  But I grew up with my mom constantly telling me that this was normal and that she had them also. But it seemed like amongst my friends I was the only one who suffered so much during and right before her period, not to mention constant pelvic pressure all month long.  Dr Parker informed me of all of my options and was very knowledgeable. He set the expectations out very clearly with amazing follow up on email and office visits. I think it is very important to know exactly what to expect and be prepared for post op and he gave me all the tools to do that. He has the best bed side manner of any obgyn I have been to. He was constantly reassuring and super confident in our outcomes. His surgery center was very well organized with some of the kindest most competent nurses and staff.  Overall I could not have asked for a better experience. I had one huge fibroid and 2 smaller ones removed and some endometriosis excised. I already look and feel so much better 2 weeks post surgery. I highly recommend Dr Parker and I am excited to live a more comfortable life during and in between my menstruation.

E.R.:

Run, don’t walk to see Dr. William Parker!  I cannot say enough good things about my experience with Dr. Parker as both a fibroids expert second opinion doctor and surgeon.   Here’s my story:

In September 2015, I was pressured by my gynecologist and her referral oncologist to get a hysterectomy for possible fibroid cancer, based on my August 2015 MRI test results.   After several verbal interchanges with my gynecologist and one short, unpleasant meeting with her referral oncologist, I believed I was being railroaded into getting a hysterectomy without enough due diligence on either doctor’s part.

Fortunately, I had known of Dr. Parker’s renowned fibroid expertise since 2008; and, was able to get in to see him for his second opinion.  At this point, I had been very scared into thinking I could have aggressive fibroid cancer.

At our first meeting in October 2015, Dr. Parker spent a substantial amount of time with my husband and I, patiently answering our questions, visually walking us through the MRI test films and communicating that the MRI results actually looked normal to him.  To check further, he gave me an LDH blood test and endometrial biopsy that day, both which resulted in normal test results.  

It has been clear from that first meeting that his caring and concern for his patients as individual human beings is “old school”; and, not the current, “you get ten minutes with your doctor who barely knows your name” type of treatment that seems too common in the medical profession nowadays.

After carefully weighing several options presented by Dr. Parker, I decided to have my 12 fibroids removed by him in March 2016 using an abdominal myomectomy procedure at the UCLA Medical Center in Santa Monica. 

My surgery experience with Dr. Parker and UCLA was top notch; and, the test results from all fibroids removed during surgery showed normal/non-cancerous tissue What a relief to have found Dr. Parker to have only my fibroids expertly removed, get final confirmation that I didn’t have cancer; and, finalize that I had not needed a hysterectomy.

From start to finish, Dr. Parker has been extremely professional, truly caring, and supremely skilled in his fibroid knowledge and surgery expertise.  I feel completely blessed to have had him as my second opinion doctor and fibroid surgeon.   Again, I cannot recommend him highly enough!

EA – Los Angeles, California:

I was stunned when my OB/GYN casually told me I had a “giant mass”. With fear, shock, and questions flooding me, she quickly listed my options for dealing with fibroids. Her first suggestion was a hysterectomy. A HYSTERECTOMY! I had not had any of the typical symptoms. I had some lower back pain, but figured that was from living an active life. I’m an athlete and I consider myself to be mindful of my body. I think my uterus and ovaries work great. I want to keep them. My fear and shock quickly turned to anger as it became clear that the general approach to fibroids, especially in a 43 year old who doesn’t intend to get pregnant, is to remove perfectly good organs. At least to me they are perfectly good. I resented the implication that I was diseased, and I dug in and proceeded to get as much information as I could.

The first consultation was with an Interventional Radiologist who could perform a fibroid embolization (UFE). His associate loaded my MRI disk and brought up my images, then involuntarily exclaimed “whoa!”. Needless to say, that did not ease my fears. I don’t know which was worse, the idea that the best-case scenario was to have half instead of a whole grapefruit in my abdomen, or that I could just “watch and wait”.

My second option to explore was removal through myomectomy. I wondered if the fibroid I had was too large. I wondered if my options had been limited. I wondered if I had been remiss and now I just had to live with half treatments, and the pervasive notion that my uterus and ovaries weren’t of any use anyway.

Then I found Dr. Parker. I did an internet search, as no one seemed to have any referrals for doctors in my area. I made the consult appointment and Dr. Parker performed an outpatient laparoscopic myomectomy two weeks later. Within two days of the surgery I felt fantastic and wanted to workout and jump in to living a big happy life. I feel new and free.

It is no exaggeration to say that my fear, anger, shame, and doubt were entirely relieved upon meeting and consulting with Dr. Parker. This man is a patient, authentic, confident, craftsman. I feel that he valued my body and health. I feel that he values what he is doing for women’s health.

I genuinely believe that by finding Dr. Parker I was given an opportunity to again take control of my wellness and my body. It is now my wish that any woman who has fibroids grab the opportunity to see Dr. Parker. I am truly grateful for him.

Amy S. – Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Dr. Parker is an exceptional doctor! I discovered him after over five years of suffering with a 9 cm sub mucosal fibroid that grew to 14.5 cm. It was very painful and debilitating and severely reduced my quality of life. The doctors in Canada told me I would most likely have to have a hysterectomy as removing a fibroid this size would “shred” my uterus. I tried everything…herbal remedies, special diets and the like. Nothing would shrink it and I began to feel it was impossible to get rid of. I saw endless years of this growth with no hope in the medical world.

While researching on the internet I came across Dr. Parker’s site. I was skeptical and hopeful. After all I had been told and read it seemed impossible that there would be a doctor who could remove this large growth and save my uterus.

I had a phone consultation with Dr. Parker and he assured me right off that my fibroid could be removed and my uterus preserved. He spoke very confidently of the quality of my womb post-surgery. I scheduled the surgery the next day and 5 weeks later flew from Alberta, Canada to LA, California. When I met him any lingering doubts I had vanished. He is very professional, kind, caring, and most importantly, skilled and knowledgeable. He answered all my questions and listened to all my concerns. I had surgery two days later and was released three days after that. Dr. Parker successfully removed a 14.5 cm, 2.2 lb. sub mucosal fibroid through an abdominal myomectomy without ruining my chances of having children. The thing I had been told wasn’t possible!

I am now 2 months post op and feel like a million dollars. I cannot believe how free I feel and how my life has opened up before me. I am now preparing to pursue my dream of having a family; Dr. Parker has made that a possibility.

Dr. Parker is the best doctor I have ever dealt with. He is genuinely caring and compassionate and takes his profession very seriously. While being prepped for the operation the nurse informed me that there at the hospital all the nurses loved him. She said that he was “meticulous” and “the best”. She said also that she had never seen or heard of one of his surgeries going awry and his patients recovered very well. After reading many posts, I agree with the one that says if you suffer from fibroids, “run, don’t walk” to see Dr. Parker. It will be one of the best decisions you ever make for your personal well-being and your future quality of life.

K.C.:

I was seen by Dr. Parker from April 2014 until July 2015, when I had my fibroid removed.  From start to finish, not only was Dr. Parker thoughtful and sentimental to the struggle it was to live with fibroids, he took the time to speak with me and my mother, via speakerphone, to explain what my surgical options were, the details of the surgery, as well as the length of time to heal/ what to expect.  I almost get tearful thinking about how pleasant the process was with him, despite my fear of having to have surgery.

I’m really grateful for Dr. Parker as he was patient and thoughtful.  In my experience, sometimes the longer a medical professional has been doing his job the less engaging they are with patients and their families.  The true doctors, the ones who take the time to see a human patient, not just a number, are rare these days.  I’m so incredibly grateful that I did not have that experience, especially with a surgery so important to me.

Thank you, Dr. Parker.

N.H. – Huntsville, Alabama:

I was diagnosed with a large fibroid after an unsuccessful laparoscopic surgery to remove an abdominal mass (initially, the fibroid was thought to be an 11 cm ovarian cyst). My local OB/GYN was concerned that the fibroid was attached to the broad ligament and there was more testing required before a second surgery to remove the fibroid. I was also told that because of the location of the fibroid, there was a risk of bleeding and if the bleeding was uncontrollable, they would need to perform a hysterectomy. That was devastating news for me and my husband since we were trying to get pregnant and start a family.

After consulting several different local gynecologists and specialists, I was still recommended open surgery with a risk of hysterectomy. Another well respected OB/GYN also suggested Uterine Artery Embolization which I later found out is a very painful procedure, not very successful and reduces drastically your chances of getting pregnant. I was hopeless, depressed and thought that I will never be able to conceive and have children.

I knew that there must be more experienced, knowledgeable specialists who could help me and preserve my fertility. I found Dr. Parker’s website while searching online for the best fibroid specialist in the US.

I can’t say enough how thankful I am for Dr. Parker and his staff and that I found him. I was impressed with all the detailed information I found on his website and I applied for an appointment immediately. Even though, we live in Alabama, no distance was too far to travel, to have an experienced surgeon remove my fibroid without damaging my uterus and female organs.

During our pre-op appointment, he took time to answer all of our questions and heard all our concerns. He went over all the MRI images with us and explained them to us and showed us where the fibroid was located and how it was attached to the uterus. He drew us pictures to help us understand what’s going on. He also explained to us how he would perform the procedure and how long it would take. He went over all of our surgery options with us, he respected our wishes and objectively recommended the appropriate treatment choices. He gave us the wonderful news that he could remove the fibroid laparoscopically without removing or damaging my uterus. He was not worried about excessive bleeding, blood transfusion or the size of the fibroid. I was confident that he was my best choice – he is not only knowledgeable and experienced (if I remember correctly he performs at least a hundred laparoscopic surgeries every year), but he is also very caring, compassionate and has a great bed side manner. I can tell, he is definitely an expert in his field.

The surgery was successful and lasted only about 2 hours. His staff was very caring, and made me feel comfortable before and after the surgery. Dr. Parker removed laparoscopically an almost 15 cm fibroid that was attached to my uterus. I only have 3 little scars on my abdomen. I felt well after the surgery and was able to go back to the hotel the same day. My husband and I stayed for a week in LA to see Dr. Parker for a follow up appointment. My recovery was fast – after a week I was feeling well and went back to work 2 weeks after the surgery.

So thankful, I am no longer suffering from abdominal & menstrual pain, and my period is regular again. If you are considering having a fibroid surgery with Dr. Parker, I will tell you that you will not find a better doctor. He is a brilliant gynecologist. If I have to choose a fibroid surgeon again, I would choose Dr. Parker again, even if I have to travel 2000 miles again. I could not recommend him more highly. I will be forever grateful to Dr Parker for laparoscopically removing my fibroid and preserving my uterus and fertility.

Claire E. – Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada:

I cannot emphasize enough how much I love Dr. Parker’s surgical competence! He is an outstanding doctor/surgeon with exceptional skills and expertise in fibroid removal. My story began four years ago when I was first diagnosed in 2010 with a large 11.7 cm uterine fibroid. The gynecologists I saw local in Vancouver, Canada immediately recommended a hysterectomy. They said because of the large size and the fibroid being inside the uterus wall, it made things very difficult to operate on. They were also concerned about the amount of blood loss that I would incur from the surgery. They couldn’t guarantee that they would be able to save my uterus upon removal of the fibroid.

Although I was 41 years of age at that time and I wasn’t going to have any more children, I was completely against having my uterus removed. My thoughts were the less invasive surgery you have the better your chances of not having complications. I refused to let a few doctors tell me that this was the only way that I would get relief from heavy blood loss and looking like I was pregnant. I began searching out natural remedies like naturopathic care, acupuncture, herbal medicine and anything else I could get my hands on that offered a glimmer of hope.

Three and a half years later and having not much success in shrinking the fibroid and now looking like I was six months pregnant, I knew I needed to do something soon as the fibroid had ballooned out to 18cm and would continue to grow if I didn’t do anything about it. I was also extremely anemic from the large amount of blood loss each month. My life was like a roller coaster – up for a few weeks and down with low energy for the other few weeks. Although I was feeling hopeless with my situation, I refused to give up. There had to be a way out of not having a radical surgery done.

Out of desperation, I headed once more to the internet to see what I could find out about fibroids and cures. I came across fibroidsecondopinion.com, Dr. Parker’s website. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I began reading the testimonials and watching the videos of the many women who had large fibroids like mine successfully removed by Dr. Parker.

The next day, I called Dr. Parker’s office to set up a phone consultation with him to see if he could possibly do an abdominal myomectomy for an 18cm fibroid. Dr. Parker’s staff were empathetic and explained in detail what I needed to do to prepare for the phone consultation. I set up the appointment and a week or two later Dr. Parker called me.

I immediately felt at ease with this kind, compassionate man. We discussed the size and type of surgery I was likely needing and he re-assured me that he had done many abdominal myomectomies on 18cm fibroids and larger. He answered all my questions. To his credit, Dr. Parker did suggest that I do my homework and see if there were any surgeons in Canada that could possibly do this operation. I did my background research and did not have a lot of success with gynecologists willing to do an abdominal myomectomy on an 18 cm fibroid. After a few weeks of thinking it through, I knew I was making the right decision to choose Dr. Parker.

Three months later, I was in Dr. Parker’s office on a Friday for a pre-op appointment going over the surgery details before the Monday morning surgery. I was confident with my decision in choosing Dr. Parker as the surgeon. Although I was nervous about the upcoming surgery, I was also very relieved to know that I was having one of the best surgeons in the country operating on me.

On the Monday morning, after the operation, I was told everything had gone exceptionally well with little blood loss. Dr. Parker had removed a 4lb fibroid. Dr. Parker had called my husband immediately following the surgery to let him know everything had gone well, as expected.

The care staff at the hospital were helpful during my stay both nights. Dr. Parker visited me in the mornings to check up on me and answered all my questions. I made a speedy recovery and was out of the hospital in two days. I stayed down in LA for another week to recover and then I was able to travel back home.

Recovery has been very quick with each day getting better. It has been one month since I had my surgery and I feel fantastic. I seriously feel like I have won the lottery finding Dr. Parker and having the surgery done by him.

I would not hesitate recommending Dr. Parker to anyone that has fibroids looking for a less invasive surgery. He is the best in his field and an outstanding doctor. I only wish we had many more gynecological surgeons like Dr. Parker in Vancouver, Canada.

Thank you so much Dr. Parker!

R.K.:

For a million reasons, I am eternally grateful that I found Dr. Parker. He is without question the best doctor I’ve ever had. I trust him with absolute certainty.

As is so common and frightening, my previous doctor nonchalantly advised me that it was required that I have surgery. That was before I found Dr. Parker. Fortunately, through solid weeks of research, I identified Dr. Parker as a highly credentialed and accomplished industry expert and soon learned that surgery was not even necessary.

I quickly learned that Dr. Parker has the ideal combination of attributes that make him an all-round outstanding doctor. Working amidst the latest advances in medical technologies and techniques, he has the exposure, skills, experience, and track record to ensure the best action for each specific patient.

Genuinely compassionate, empathetic, collaborative, and present, he is focused while thoroughly and patiently answering all questions, guiding through possible scenarios, providing diagrams, and presenting information through photos and computer visuals. He comprehensively details his patient’s current status, options, and next steps. He clearly understands the importance of a patient being empowered with knowledge and confident in her decision.

Dr. Parker personally calls with the prompt delivery of test results and next steps. He is calming and I always leave his office feeling strong and confident that I am in the best of care. And, always, forever grateful that I found Dr. Parker.

As if that’s not enough, Dr. Parker is also incredibly good-natured. He’s personable, approachable, warm, supportive, and without question, one I trust wholeheartedly to look out for what’s in my best interest. This gives me confidence and peace of mind that I’m doing what’s healthiest for me.

Noli C. – Military Base, Afghanistan:

I was diagnosed with uterine fibroids in 2005. I had no knowledge of what fibroids were and what purpose they served in the uterus. The doctors weren’t as supportive or informative as I thought they should have been at the time. I was only told that I will need to get a hysterectomy or to deal with having fibroids. I didn’t like my options so I decided to go to a different gynecologist and get a second opinion. I kept going back and forth to the doctors to get checked and seeing that my fibroids kept enlarging instead of going away. I bought books and read a lot to keep myself educated about fibroids but nothing helped my fibroids. I dealt with the side effects daily and felt my health deteriorate slowly.

In 2011, my fibroids got too big and I needed to take care of the problem. I got on Google and looked up the ten best doctors that can treat fibroids. Luckily, I came across Dr. Parkers website, “Fibroids A second Opinion” I was so happy and relieved to be able to find a doctor who actually cares for his patients and who gives out so much information to helped women understand what treatment she wants to pursue. In the website Dr.Parker mentions that women have many options besides getting a hysterectomy. That part drove me to make an appointment right away without thinking about it twice.

Dr. Parker gave me back the hope I lost when the other doctors told me that I would need get a hysterectomy at age 27. Dr Parker is my hero :) He made it his priority to inform me about the options I have and help me understand my condition. I’m so happy he was able to preserve my uterus. Thank You!!!!

I highly recommend that all the women in the world with fibroids come get a second opinion from Dr.Parker because he has vast information to share and can help women with fibroids. I flew all the way from Afghanistan where I am currently working on a military base because the Veteran Affairs Hospital support system wasn’t great and the doctor’s weren’t giving me much of a choice of what to do. I just remember seeing different doctors and they were shocked that my fibroids were so large and they recommended to take out my uterus. I took a chance and branch out and looked for a doctor who was able to help.

Dr. Parker is great and visited me in the hospital after surgery until I was cleared to go home. That is a rarity that stood out about his high concern for his patients’ well-being. My mother was even more grateful but somewhat embarrassed when she saw Dr. Parker standing over my sick bed every morning and catching her still sleeping at 0700 hours.lol

What stood out about Dr. Parker when I first met him was his skill, experience with treating fibroids and the passion he has for his profession. Dr. Parker easily removed a total of 10 fibroids from my uterus without any complications. I will always be grateful to Dr. Parker for giving me back a normal healthy size uterus and my flat abs back.

Live Free!!

Dr. Michele M – Trabuco Canyon, California:

Dr. Parker is a rare find. If you suffer from fibroids, Dr. Parker is the best. Being a physician myself, surgery was the last thing that I wanted, but I figured that I had the resources to find the best surgeon possible. Unfortunately, my fibroids had continued to grow to the point where I could no longer ignore them (one was 9cm and the other 5cm). I researched extensively to find a physician that I could trust. I was very wary about letting someone operate on me. In my opinion, Dr. Parker is one of the best! He is a rare combination of top notch surgical skills, a renowned expert in his area of study (fibroids), and a very caring physician who goes the extra mile for his patients. He cares a lot, and that means a lot to me. He is also one of the best surgeons I have seen. Because of his surgical skill, I can’t believe how quickly I recovered from the laparoscopic myomectomy. I was off all pain medications by post op day two, and back to my normal exercise routine in just two weeks (although I waited on “hill sprints” until the third week, because jarring my body up and down a hill didn’t seem right until the third week).

On my first visit with Dr. Parker, I was impressed with the time he spent in discussing my treatment options. He showed me images, and even gave me copies of medical studies regarding fibroids. Prior to planning fibroid surgery, he ensured that I had an MRI and lab work to rule out malignancy/cancer (a step that my own OB/GYN didn’t think to do). Even though it is very rare for there to be a malignancy, it is important that Dr. Parker took this extra step so that he wouldn’t be dragging malignant cells through the peritoneum and out a laparoscopic incision. After confirming that it was a benign fibroid, Dr. Parker’s staff was very efficient in getting me scheduled for surgery. I think that you can always tell a lot about a physician through his staff, and Dr. Parker’s staff is very patient and very kind. Although I was nervous about the surgery, I had complete confidence that I was in good hands. Judging by the speed with which I healed, Dr. Parker is a very skilled surgeon. I am very grateful that I no longer have fibroids or the symptoms they caused. I knew from my research that Dr. Parker is a top notch surgeon, but I can now also speak from personal experience. He is definitely one of the best physicians/surgeons in treating fibroids. Again, Dr. Parker is that rare combination of top notch surgical skill, expertise in his field, and care.

 

Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 >

 

 

Share/Save/Bookmark

Disclaimer: The ideas, procedures and suggestions contained on this web site are not intended as a substitute for consulting with your physician. All matters regarding your health require medical supervision.

Fibroid Doctor William H. Parker

Dr. William H. Parker is a board-certified Fellow in the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. Dr. Parker is an internationally recognized expert in fibroid surgery and research. Based in Los Angeles, California, he is considered one of the best fibroid surgeons for abdominal and laparoscopic myomectomy in the United States and abroad. He has been chosen for Best Doctors in America and Top Doctors every year beginning in the late 90's.

Free Email Updates

Powered by Google FeedBurner : Receive free updates right to your inbox every time new content is added to this website.


Subscribe
Schedule an Appointment Today!
Read Dr. Parker's Blog

Blog Categories